Soft Shell (2000) cover

Soft Shell (2000)


  • Andy Laster – saxophone
  • Tom Rainey – drums
  • Herb Robertson – trumpet, cornet
  • Drew Gress -bass


Laster’s third recording with his band Hydra, for the Knitting Factory label.


"Laster not only confirms he is an engaging soloist, regardless of axe or setting, but a leader with a knack for matching materials with musicians . . . The buzz of discovery awaits the adventurous consumer, as Polyogue is brimming with vigorously swinging blowing vehicles, extended pieces built on high-contrast materials and pungent pastiches."

- Bill Shoemaker, JazzTimes